Laughing Through the Horror

Mary for the win wig shopping breast cancer-1

I’ve got to be honest. This losing my hair stuff stinks the big stinky. I did my best to make it better than it could have been. I think I succeeded. I tried haircuts that I never would have before. During that I discovered that I absolutely love my hair short. I was always afraid that it wouldn’t work on me. As you all can see, I’m not short on crazy, silly faces. You should seriously feel for Artemas who has to go through his photos of me. There are some that are just WOW. We even considered doing a whole greeting card line of my different expressions because I’m not lacking in that department. I could have my own feed on the GIF keyboard. Needless to say, my big fear of appearing all mouth was ridiculous and I can totally rock short hair.

Mary for the win wig shopping breast cancer 2-1

What I have gotten a ton of is laughter. Anyone who comes to visit must plunge down the rabbit hole of complete silliness and I love it. My friend took me to dinner,and while tormenting the waiter through our stories of  wilder times, we laughed. That awkward moment when you’re saying something so inappropriate there is no playing it off, and you just have to wait silently while it seems like three hours while he refills your water and then you explode like a twelve year old with giggles as he walks away. That. Those are the moments that heal me.

Leave a comment